Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Thoughtworks (4.3/5) edges ahead of RTS Labs (4.1/5) overall. Thoughtworks is the better choice for engineering orgs wanting disciplined AI delivery. RTS Labs is the stronger option for US mid-market firms on a small budget. The right choice depends on how far your pilot has got, your budget, and who will run the system after launch.
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 1993 | 2010 |
| HQ | Chicago, USA | Glen Allen, USA |
| Team size | 10,000 | 100+ |
| Rating | 4.3 / 5 | 4.1 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Continuous delivery practice applied to models and prompts, with tool views published in its Technology Radar | The lowest entry point on this page, with a committed ship date for production code |
| Pricing model | Time & materials and fixed-scope work; rates not published | Fixed-scope projects; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) |
| Min. engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Primary tech stack | AWS, Azure, Google Cloud | AWS, Azure, Python |
| Industries served | Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector, Energy | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail |
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: overview
Thoughtworks
Thoughtworks was founded in Chicago in 1993 and has roughly 10,000 staff. Apax Partners took it private in a deal announced in August 2024 and valued at about $1.75 billion. The firm popularized continuous delivery for machine learning (CD4ML), and its production AI work applies the same habits of automated testing, versioning, and small releases to models and prompts. Its twice-yearly Technology Radar lets you see its tool opinions before you hire it.
RTS Labs
RTS Labs is based in the Richmond, Virginia area and says it has 100+ US-based staff (per company website; independently unverifiable). It gives 2010 as its founding year, though Clutch lists 2012. The firm promises production-grade code with a defined ship date and quotes eight to twelve weeks from brief to production for its main implementations (per company website). Clutch lists $25–$49 an hour and a $5,000+ minimum, the lowest entry point on this page.
Services and capabilities: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Capability | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| LLM gateway & model routing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Regression tests on prompt and model changes | ✓ | ✗ |
| Canary or staged rollout | ✓ | ✗ |
| Hallucination and drift monitoring | ✗ | ✗ |
| MLOps & model serving | ✓ | ✗ |
| Fixed-scope pilot | ✗ | ✓ |
| Managed run after launch | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Framework / platform | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | ✓ | N/A |
| Kubernetes | ✓ | N/A |
| MLflow | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Amazon Bedrock | N/A | N/A |
| Vertex AI | N/A | N/A |
| LangChain | N/A | N/A |
| Snowflake | N/A | ✓ |
Pricing comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Criterion | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not disclosed | $5,000+ (Clutch) |
| Engagement models | Fixed-scope project, Time & materials, Dedicated team | Fixed-scope pilot, Fixed-scope project, Dedicated team |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Minimum disclosed |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Accessible |
Target audience comparison: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Dimension | Thoughtworks | RTS Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Enterprise | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Financial services, Retail, Healthcare | Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Setting up continuous delivery for models and prompts., Rescuing an AI project stuck because of weak engineering practice. | Shipping one AI workflow to production in a few months., Logistics and operations agents for mid-size US firms. |
| Typical project type | Fixed-scope project | Fixed-scope pilot |
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs: pros and cons
| Thoughtworks | |
|---|---|
| + | Automated testing and small, frequent releases are standard practice |
| + | Coined much of the CD4ML vocabulary other firms now use |
| + | Public Technology Radar shows its reasoning on tools |
| + | Teaches client engineers its methods while working |
| - | Taken private by Apax in 2024, so leadership and costs are in flux |
| - | Premium rates for a consultancy of its type |
| - | No managed-run service focused on AI |
| RTS Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | A $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest on this page |
| + | Commits to a ship date, which keeps pilots from drifting |
| + | All-US team for clients that need domestic staff |
| + | Connects AI to logistics and operational systems |
| - | Less visible LLMOps tooling than the specialists |
| - | Founding year and headcount differ between its site and Clutch |
| - | US-only team |
Who should choose Thoughtworks?
A typical fit: setting up continuous delivery for models and prompts.
Continuous delivery practice applied to models and prompts, with tool views published in its Technology Radar. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Retail, Healthcare, Public sector, Energy.
Who should choose RTS Labs?
A typical fit: shipping one AI workflow to production in a few months.
The lowest entry point on this page, with a committed ship date for production code. Minimum engagement starts at $5,000+ (Clutch). Works best with clients in Logistics, Financial services, Healthcare, Manufacturing, Retail.
Decision matrix: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| Your pilot works but nobody trusts it in production yet | Thoughtworks |
| Model API spend is growing faster than usage | Neither lists a gateway; ask how cost per feature is tracked |
| You need someone to watch quality after launch | Neither; plan for your own team to monitor it |
| You run classic ML models that need serving and retraining | Thoughtworks |
| You want a priced pilot before a full rollout | RTS Labs |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Thoughtworks (Not disclosed) vs RTS Labs ($5,000+ (Clutch)) |
| You need a large team for many products at once | Thoughtworks |
Use case fit: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
| Use case | Thoughtworks fit | RTS Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Setting up continuous delivery for models and prompts. | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Rescuing an AI project stuck because of weak engineering practice. | Strong | Limited | Thoughtworks |
| Shipping one AI workflow to production in a few months. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
| Logistics and operations agents for mid-size US firms. | Limited | Strong | RTS Labs |
Verdict: Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs
Thoughtworks (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Implementation projects. Continuous delivery practice applied to models and prompts, with tool views published in its Technology Radar.
RTS Labs (4.1/5) is worth a look if you need logistics and operations agents for mid-size US firms. If your situation matches that, RTS Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Thoughtworks vs RTS Labs FAQ
Is Thoughtworks better than RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Thoughtworks's strongest advantage: automated testing and small, frequent releases are standard practice. RTS Labs's strongest advantage: a $5,000+ Clutch minimum is the lowest on this page.
How do Thoughtworks and RTS Labs differ in pricing?
Thoughtworks's pricing: time & materials and fixed-scope work; rates not published. RTS Labs's pricing: fixed-scope projects; $25–$49/hr (Clutch band) with a minimum engagement of $5,000+ (Clutch). Any hourly bands shown come from Clutch, not a published rate card, so a scoping call is still needed for a project quote.
Which is better for enterprise: Thoughtworks or RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Thoughtworks and RTS Labs?
Thoughtworks's primary differentiator is: continuous delivery practice applied to models and prompts, with tool views published in its Technology Radar. RTS Labs's primary differentiator is: the lowest entry point on this page, with a committed ship date for production code. They also differ in team size (10,000 vs 100+), minimum engagement (Not disclosed vs $5,000+ (Clutch)), and primary industries served (Financial services, Retail vs Logistics, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.